Conference Book

Conference overview, Guide for participants, Conference Schedule, FInal program are included.(PDF file)

Plenary Lecuture


Dr. David Alfredo Pacheco Tanaka

Palladium and carbon molecular sieves membranes for gas separation and membrane reactors


Dr Pacheco Tanaka is Pharmacist with a master’s degree in Chemistry. From 1991 to 1996 was first visiting researcher and then doctoral student at the University of Surrey, United Kingdom working in supramolecular chemistry, obtaining the PhD degree in chemistry in 1996.

From 1997 to 2008, he was a researcher at the Advanced Institute of Industrial Science and Technology (AIST) in Japan, working first in the development of methods of detection and extraction of toxic compounds present in water, and later in the development of supported membranes of Pd / Ag membranes for the separation of hydrogen.
From December 2008 to May 2012, he was a researcher at the University of Oporto, Portugal, working in the development of carbon membranes for gas separation, catalysts for methanol reforming, TiO2-graphene photocatalyst, polymer-graphene composite, graphene in solar cells.

Since May 2012, he is researcher at Tecnalia (Spain) in palladium membrane reactors for the production of hydrogen, carbon membranes for the separation of gases and desalination using graphene. From 2018 he is also a university researcher at the Eindhoven University of Technology (The Netherlands)

He is co-author of more than 100 scientific articles and 19 submitted patents.


Prof. Jerry Y.S. Lin

Hydrogen Production in Ceramic-carbonate Dual-phase Membrane Reactors with CO2Capture


Jerry Y.S. Lin is a Regents’ Professor at Arizona State University. He was department chair of chemical engineering at ASU from 2006-2009 after his 13-year appointment as a faculty member at University of Cincinnati. Dr. Lin’s main research areas are membrane science, adsorption/catalysis, and energy storage. He has published about 400 papers mostly in chemical engineering journals is an inventor of 10 US and European patents. As one of most cited authors in the field of chemical engineering, Dr. Lin’s papers have been cited about 28000 times per Google Scholar (h=81). Dr. Lin received several awards including AIChE Institute Award for Excellence in Industrial Gas Technologies in 2009 and AIChE Gerhold Award in 2021, and is an elected fellow of American Society for Advancement of Science (AAAS), American Institute of Chemical Engineers (AIChE), and North American Membrane Society (NAMS). Dr. Lin is co Editor-in-Chief of Journal of Membrane Science and Journal of Membrane Science Letters.


Prof. Weishen Yang

Solid Electrolyte Membrane Reactors for CO2Reduction


Dr. Weishen Yang is Professor of the State Key Laboratory of Catalysis at Dalian Institute of Chemical Physics, Chinese Academy of Sciences, China since 1995. He received his PhD from the Chinese Academy of Sciences in 1990. As a visiting scholar, he worked in Birmingham University (UK) in 1989, Institute of Interfacial Engineering and Biotechnology, Fraunhofer (Germany) in 1999, and University of Southern California (USA) in 2001. He has published ~350 referred journal papers (Citations > 18,000), 2 books, 4 book chapters and 50 patents on material synthesis with strong emphasis on the rational design and molecular-level engineering of functional nano-materials for applications in catalysis, membrane separation, and electrochemistry.

Dr. Tohru Setoyama

Executive Fellow Mitsubishi Chemical Corp. Japan

Innovative Separation System by ceramic membranes

Brief biography

1983 Graduated from Univ. of Tokyo at MD (later obtained PhD of chemistry at Univ. of Tokyo)
1983 Joined to Mitsubishi Kasei (Mitsubishi Chemical Corp.)Main research area: Heterogeneous catalyst, organic synthesis, Design of inorganic functional material. During this period, Setoyama contributed to the establishment of several catalysts of newlycommercialized processes.
From 2001 to 2014, Setoyama managed laboratories such as porous material, heterogeneous catalyst, organic materials, inorganic laboratory as relevant general manager.
2011 Fellow of Mitsubishi Chemical corp.,
2013 Executive officer ofMitsubishi Chemical, Project Officer of JST-CREST “Hyper nano space design” JST: Japan Science and Technology Agency, CREST: Creative Research Strategy Program
2014 General Manager of “Setoyama Laboratory” at Mitsubishi Chemical corp., Project Leader of “Artificial photo synthesis” assisted by NEDO
2019 Executive Fellow of Mitsubishi Chemical Corp.
2002 Petro chemical institute Award: Technology Award
2008 Green sustainable Chemistry Award: Award granted by Minister of Economy, Trade and Industry